Measuring Disk I/O

James Koopmann, jkoopmann@pinehorse.com

 

Introduction

Do you know how your disk subsystem is actually performing? This article looks at extracting various I/O statistics so that you can monitor and determine just how well your disks are doing.

How can I separate Oracle I/O to maximize performance?

Should I separate data files from index files?

Should I separate redo logs

These question(s), AND many more, seem to flood our minds as database administrators. They are easy to answer with generalities but in practice can be very difficult to come to a conclusion on unless we look at how our disk subsystem is actually performing.

….

http://www.dbasupport.com/oracle/ora10g/disk_IO.shtml

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

